The Response

I’d like to thank everyone who read, posted, re-posted, shared and responded to my original post.  I wrote it for two reasons:

1)  I needed to get it out.  I think I would’ve  internally combusted if I didn’t get these thoughts and feelings out.  Talking about it didn’t seem enough.  I needed to YELL.  I needed a bigger microphone and a higher podium.

And audio-visual aid.

Hum. Whirr. Click.

Hum. Whirr. Click.

Even if it ended up feeling like I was on the Jumbotron screaming out to an empty stadium and hearing nothing but the sound of my own reverb, it was such a relief to let it out of me.

So, thanks for peeking into my stadium and hearing me out.

2)   I wanted to start a conversation.  I’m not an academic, so when I looked for answers to my questions, rather than resort to books, I took it to the street.  Well, the digital street.

Last I checked, a German website was quoting the blog, because it was referenced by a theater blog on London’s The Guardian.  As much as I’d like to think that the post made its rounds because of my sharp dissection of cultural and aesthetic inconsistencies in modern theater, it’s clear that it got around because people are talking about this very thing.  Everywhere.  And that conversation MUST continue if anything is to change.

So, thank you for being part of the conversation, and for making the conversation continue to grow.

As part of the conversation, Michael Lew, a co-director of the Ma-Yi Writers’ Lab, the largest collective of Asian-American playwrights in the country, has graciously written a handy guide called How to Cast Actors of Color.  For those who still feel in the dark.

Finally, to those that offered words of encouragement, THANK YOU.  I read every word and it meant so much to know that others had similar experiences, that what I shared reflected what a lot of you thought, and that you were with me.

Honestly, I appreciated ALL the responses, even those that questioned my questioning.  Thanks for having the courage to write what may be unpopular, because without that, the conversation wouldn’t be a conversation, but a oneversation, and we have too much of that these days.

But to those that said I should not concern myself with things that are beyond my control, that I shouldn’t address a problem that cannot be fixed, that I should stay the course and one day something will change, to you I say:  nothing changes until you make it change.

Let’s MAKE the change happen.

Leave a Reply

